Skip to content

wear with freedom

Where does the time go? I’ve managed a few stitches here and there, but certainly not as much as I’d like since the return of my newly purring sewing machine.

I’ve been working (albeit very slowly) on making a couple of dresses. The first I made from the cute Japanese title Stylish Dress Book (by Yoshiko Tsukiori) for a concept. The concept didn’t take flight, however it’s sparked my enthusiasm for expanding my wardrobe with some more home-made numbers. On recent shopping jaunts, the selection of frocks on offer has been rather disheartening…too short, too long, or just too expensive! Cue: “pft, I could make that!”. It’s never as easy as you imagined it would be, but I’ve never been put off by a challenging jigsaw puzzle.
 This is a basic dress without a zip – a little too ‘maternity’ on me without a belt, though perfect for hiding all manner of sins. The instructions in the book are translated from Japanese and are mostly easy enough to follow, however there is some assumed knowledge, like how to make your own bias binding for example. I gathered the neck in a fraction too tightly, so it’s not sitting perfectly (though I don’t think anyone else would notice), but otherwise – it’s pretty simple, and looks quite elegant on. I’ll definitely be making it again in some nicer fabric over the Christmas break.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. mimsy #

    It looks lovely!
    FYI I have a nifty little gadget with which you can make your own bias binding. It’s really simple, we should have a bias session!

    December 5, 2011
  2. Yes, let’s do it! It’s really easy to make without the gadget, but would love to have a go!

    December 6, 2011
  3. Jen #

    This is gorgeous! Which dress is it from the book? My husband has ordered this book for me as a birthday present and I cannot wait to get my hands on it. You could always try shirring on the waistline to bring it in. I’ve seen a few of these dresses which when tackled like that avoid the whole maternity smock look. Do keep us up to date if you make more!

    March 16, 2012
  4. Thank you! It’s Dress A (without the border lace, as I couldn’t find any). Shirring is a great idea and would add some nice shape…I might give that a try actually! I wish I had more time for dressmaking, it’s so satisfying. I always have trouble finding fabric I want to wear though, very frustrating!
    Good luck with your dressmaking…likewise, keep us posted…

    March 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

