Skip to content

American vintage

©AmandaMcKittrick_IMG_5903When I laid eyes on this 1940’s American pink palm leaf fabric at Vintage Fabric Addict, it was love at first sight. I made this bag for an article on using vintage fabric for craft projects, however it wasn’t published in the end so I thought I’d share it here.

The other side of the bag is hessian, which lends an earthy feel to the finished product but is not the easiest fabric to work with. Hessian is a rough, hairy and fibrous beast, it seems to have a life of its own. Have the vacuum cleaner at the ready if you ever work with it, and don’t wear anything too precious, as guaranteed you’ll end up looking like a woolly mammoth.

©AmandaMcKittrick_IMG_6244Finding bag supplies here in Sydney is no easy task…hallelujah for eBay, Etsy, and friends with good connections! I’m tempted to start-up my own online bag supply shop, I think there’s definitely a market for it. Do you know of a good bag supply store, online or otherwise? If so I’d love to hear about it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

