Skip to content

Gardening Tote

I’m in the process of moving to another state, a quiet place with plenty of space to create. The garden once a thriving oasis, is in dire need of some TLC. I’ve been plotting, digging, planting and raking my heart out (and have the blisters to prove it). The six-pocket gardening tote I created for my book has come in handy for lugging tools from one end of the yard to the other, and for the many trips to the local hardware.

totesamaze-gardentote

I inserted a sturdy plastic base into this tote – a good decision, as  not only does it create more space at the bottom of the bag, it makes things easier to find and the bag stands upright. The pockets are also perfect for small tools and other bits and pieces like my keys, phone, and water bottle. I’m quietly pleased with myself for making a tote that has immediate practical use for me – at the time of making this bag, owning a large garden was just a dream. Dream big…one day it may become a reality!

Tips for making a garden tote:

* choose darker coloured fabric, that is either washable or waterproof

* cut a sturdy piece of plastic that can be inserted firmly into the base of your bag – available at art and craft supply stores

kittycollects-lavender

I’m not sure it’s the right time to deadhead lavender, but I couldn’t resist tidying these hedges up. I’m sure I’ll learn a lot about gardening in the next few months!

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Janine #

    Kitty, is that your arm in a sling in the Instagram shot? Have you got Repetitive Sewing Injury or some other craft-related malady? (Or is it the gout again?)

    April 4, 2014
  2. Gout? I don’t even know what that is! Yes…that is me…slashed my finger wide open with my new super-sharp knife the other night (mistook it for a carrot). Had to rush myself to hospital, they stitched me up and popped me in a sling to keep it elevated. All rather inconvenient…the past week has been a challenge. It’s a thumbs-down/”dislike” from me.

    April 4, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. It’s a spring thing | kittycollects

Leave a Reply

