Skip to content

Butterick B5043 : 2 Hour Skirt Pattern

Don’t you love it when a pattern test works out better than expected and you end up with something wearable?! I found a pile of unused patterns in my recent craft room spring clean, and desperate for some new summer clothes as I always am, I whipped up a skirt with a “Fast and Easy 2 Hour Pattern”, B5043 (Skirt A) by Butterick.

The fabric was bought on a whim a couple of years ago with no specific project in mind…is this why I have an out-of-control fabric stash, I wonder? I was unconcerned about failure, I just had an urge to sew. As it says on the pattern, it really is a 2 hour skirt, very simple with only 4 pieces and no zips or fiddly features. I thought perhaps the elastic waist might look a little daggy (you can never accurately judge the packet illustrations), but it sits quite nicely and is hardly noticeable.

Sewing success! And now to make a few more.

©amandamckittrick_IMG_9042

B5043

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Snap, Kitty! I have an A-line skirt in precisely that fabric. I am always wary of patterns that have only illustrations, not photos – I want to know what the garment looks like on a real human, not an artist’s impression of a human. I never buy illustration-only patterns for that reason – but you got lucky. Congratulations and happy sewing! Janine x

    October 13, 2014
  2. Ha! Great minds think alike. Did you buy your fabric at Spotlight? Actually found some wearable fabric on the weekend, very pleased. Patterns are always risky, even with photos – and I find that they’re usually one size too large. But anyway, happy to fire up the machine again…instant gratification, unlike months of patience with knitting! Kitty x

    October 13, 2014
  3. No, I got my fabric from a shop called Cleg’s in Melbourne about two years ago. At the time there were a few similar prints around with that 1950s look. Next time you come to my place you should go through my stash to see if anything takes your fancy – that might help both of us out!

    October 13, 2014
  4. I’d love to rummage through your stash!

    October 13, 2014
  5. Ooh looks great! Good work! x

    October 15, 2014
  6. Thank you! It’s a good feeling when something so simple works out. 🙂

    October 15, 2014

Leave a Reply

