Skip to content

Dress Pattern – New Look 6723

If you can see past the gaudy fabric and the creases, this dress pattern from New Look is really very good. I bought this fabric online after seeing it in a catalogue. It looked beautiful in print, muted pinks and blue…a lovely combination, I thought. Until I opened the delivery, only to have my retinas burnt by the flourescent pink blooms. A lesson for all of us…unless you’re sure about how the fabric will look in the flesh, don’t do it.

©amanda.mckittrick_IMG_9794

But never one to let things go to waste, I used it to test out New Look’s 6723 dress pattern. It took me a good 5 hours to make this, though I did skim over instructions in parts, resulting in a little bit of unpicking. Another lesson: always read the instructions! The bodice is lined and the whole dress was easy to assemble. The pattern offers alterations for sizing variations, for example size 10 across the bust and size 8 across the waist. I made the complete dress in size 10, but for the next one I’ll take the waist down to an 8 for a better fit. No changes required to the length, and the dress looks just as it does on the pattern envelope. Many more of these (in nicer fabric) to come!

6723_env_front_1

 

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi Kitty, my retinas approve of that fabric! Go on, you can carry it off!

    Nice pattern, a retro/contemporary look that can be worn anywhere. Did you pleat the waist rather than gathering it? It looks a bit less foofy than the illustrations suggest. Nice work! It turned out better than the Christmas shortbreads I just took out of the oven…

    December 11, 2014
  2. This photo really doesn’t capture how bright it is! It’s just too much…almost offensive. I contemplated trying to mute the flowers with fabric paint, but that’s probably a crazy idea. I’ll just put it down to a bad decision!
    I did loosely pleat it instead, I thought gathers might make it too puffy, as the fabric is quite thick. For a lighter cotton I’ll gather it.
    Shame about the shortbread (my fave!)…what happened, baking queen?

    December 11, 2014
  3. It looks pretty in the pic- but couldn’t you run it through some dye to tone it down if you really hate it?

    December 11, 2014
  4. Hello! I had thought of that too…but what colour dye, I’m not sure what would work. Maybe I should test it on the off-cuts…

    December 11, 2014
  5. Oh pure loveliness! That fabric goes so perfectly with the pattern. Great choices!

    December 12, 2014
  6. Thank you Hila!

    December 12, 2014
  7. Is the background navy? I’d dye it navy to tone the flowers down to a purple (hopefully). Better than letting a well-fitting and otherwise attractive dress go to waste…

    December 12, 2014

Leave a Reply

