Skip to content

Simplicity 1369 skirt pattern

Happy New Year, dear readers! Hope your break was relaxing. I spent quite a bit of time at the sewing machine over the Christmas break, testing out various patterns.

Below is a skirt I made using Simplicity 1369, View ‘E’ with 2.5 inches added to the length. It took me a while to get the sizing right, as usual the pattern size was too big (by a whopping 8cm!), despite making the skirt to the correct measurements, it sat too low and loose. The “ease” allowed for in the finished garment was just too much. It wasn’t difficult to alter, but it did add unwanted time to the whole process.

A couple of “firsts” for me using this pattern – my first ever pockets! The pockets were so easy to add, and cleverly hidden in the design. It was also my first attempt at interlining, which I had initially thought would be a daunting process. The fabric was too sheer, so I basted a light cotton to my pieces, then assembled as normal. It worked out really well, the only down side was the added time in making the skirt. Combined with the alterations, it took twice as long as it should have. But, now I have some new skills under my belt, so future skirts and dresses will be much quicker and easier. I’ll definitely be using this pattern again, but with a smarter fabric choice and the right size!

©amandamckittrick_IMG_9799simplicity_1369

 

 

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Janine #

    Hi Kitty, I don’t see anything wrong with that fabric choice. It’s a very nice look for summer! And don’t you love skirts with pockets?

    January 6, 2015
  2. Hi JF! I was referring to how sheer it was, rather than the design – I quite like this fabric! Oh pockets…where have you been all my life? So good, and so easy!

    January 6, 2015
  3. I’m having a HARD time sewing this skirt. I’m getting lost and stuck at the yoke part. Do not know for the life of me why I’m getting confused. But either way, yours turned out very beautiful.

    Jan

    July 27, 2015
  4. Hi Jan, oh that’s frustrating! Feel free to email me if you want help – I can’t guarantee I’ll be of any use but I may be able to help in some way. kittycollects at gmail.com
    Hope you haven’t given up, it is a lovely skirt.

    July 27, 2015
  5. Kim Durkee #

    Did you find the sizing a little ridiculous for this pattern? I am usually a size 8ish, but to get my waist to fit (30 inches), the pattern says I should be a size 16. That seems ridiculous, and now I’m hesitant as to what size to make it.

    September 2, 2015
  6. Hi Kim, yes – so ridiculous! Way too big, but I thought “surely it must be right” and made it up to the pattern instructions anyway. I ended up taking it in by 8cm, which is a lot! The pattern said I should be a size 12, so next time I’ll make it at size 6 or 8. I didn’t want to take the risk of wasting fabric when I started it, but then once I made it up and it was just swimming on me, I spent ages resizing it anyway. Should have trusted my instinct and gone with the size I usually am (either 6 or 8). Good luck, would love to know how you go with it!

    September 2, 2015

Leave a Reply

