Skip to content

Stitched Safari

Absence makes the heart grow fonder, isn’t that what they say? So where have I been? Well, truth be told I haven’t been doing much craft of late. I am studying Graphic Design, and have been spending a lot of time playing catch-up on my assignments after breaking for Christmas. My studies are progressing well, I’m a straight-A student so far!

There have been some notable craft related stories in the Australian media lately, and I have drawn much inspiration from people using their skills to help animals in crisis. When fires recently ravaged our bushland, IFAW (International Fund for Animal Welfare) sent out a request for people to sew koala mittens to cover dressings on their burnt paws. The call-out was a huge success and thousands of mittens were sent from far-flung corners of the globe. Australia’s oldest man at 109 years(!), was also publicised for knitting jumpers to help penguins affected by oils spills. So sweet, and what a talent! Two great causes to help out our lovable little critters.

While I’m on the topic of critters, I want to show off my latest acquisitions. A friend gave me these two books for helping with a design job, and I can’t wait to stitch up some of these adorable animals.

401362

stitched_safaribest_in_show_coverbest_in_show

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

